Association for Progressive Communications

Organization's name: Association for Progressive Communications
Organization's acronym: APC
Former Name(s): ZAP
Headquarters address  
Address: PO Box 29755, Melville 2109
South Africa
Phone: 27 11 726 1692
Fax: 27 11 726 1692
Web site:,
Preferred mailing address
Address: PO Box 29755, Melville 2109
South Africa
Organization type: Non-governmental organization
  • French

Contacts & Participation:

First Name:

Last Name:

Contact Type:

Chat Arcia RAMILO
Michel Lambert
Desiree Evans Designation
Manal Baheyeldin Mohamed HASAN Designation
Fabiola Carrion Designation
Ritu Srivastava Others
Jac Siew Min Kee Designation
Gayatri Khandhadai Lakshmi Narayanan Designation
Karen Banks Designation
Verónica Ferrari Designation
Malcolm Wleemogar Joseph Designation
Jac Siew Min Kee Advancement of Women , Designation
Deborah Brown Designation , Conference Focal Point
Carlos Rey-Moreno Designation
Lisa Marie Cyr
Dafne Sabanes Plou Advancement of Women
Avri Doria Designation
Verónica Ferrari Designation
Graciela Selaimen Others
Nadine Mouawad Designation
Avri Doria Designation
John Dada
Julia Peres Guimarães
Mehar Gujral Designation
Sidra Rizvi Designation
Valeria Betancourt Designation
Haroon-ur-Rasheed Baloch Designation
Reza Salim
Shawna Finnegan Designation
Edetaen Ojo Designation
Emilar Vushe Financing for Development , Quadrennial Report
Deborah Brown Designation
Janine Moolman-Monare Designation
Valeria Betancourt Designation
Concepcion Ramilo Designation , Head of Organization
Janine Moolman-Monare Advancement of Women , Designation , Conference Focal Point
Mylene Soto Designation
Roger Rashi
Carlos Afonso
Valentina Pellizzer Designation
Lebohang Liepollo Pheko
Anna Margaretha (Anriette) Esterhuysen Designation
Paula Martins Kurukawa Designation
Marwa Azelmat Designation
Anna Margaretha (Anriette) ESTERHUYSEN Designation
Katerina Fialova
Alaa Ahmed Seifelslam Abdel FATAH Designation
Matthias Langenegger Others
Jennifer Radloff
Ahmed Swapan Mahmud
Concepcion Garcia Ramilo Designation , Head of Organization
Joy Liddicoat Designation
Nnenna Nwakanma Designation
Paula Martins Kurukawa Designation
Martha Muller
Conception Garcia Ramilo
Graciela Selaimen
Julián Alfonso Casasbuenas Gallo
Concepcion Ramilo Designation , Head of Organization
Emilar Gandhi Designation


Areas of expertise & Fields of activity:
Economic and Social:
  • Citizenship and Governance
  • Climate Change
  • Development
  • Governance
  • Human Rights
  • Intellectual Property
  • Science and Technology
  • Sustainable Development
  • Women

Gender Issues and Advancement of Women:
  • Advocacy and outreach
  • Capacity building
  • Education and training of women
  • Human rights of women
  • Millennium Development Goals
  • Policy advice
  • Research
  • Service provision
  • Trafficking in women and girls
  • Violence against women
  • Women and the media
  • Women and the media
Geographic scope: International
Millennium Development Goals:
  • Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  • Promote gender equality and empower women
  • Develop global partnership for development
Mission statement:
Year established (YYYY): 1990
Year of registration (YYYY): 1995
Organizational structure: APC is both a network and an organisation. The membership define APC’s strategic priorities every five years. APC has a small staff, each living in different countries and communicating day-to-day over the internet (we have no central headquarters). APC’s value and uniqueness come from the local perspectives and contact with grassroots organisations that we gain from our members and the fact that we operate as a truly virtual, international organisation.
Number and type of members: APC members are groups working in their own countries to advance the same mission as APC. In December 2010, APC had 50 members in 35 countries, the majority from developing countries.
Funding structure:
  • Membership fees or dues
  • Fees for providing consulting or research services
  • Donations and grants from domestic sources
  • Foreign and international grants

Additional Information

Main Objective

Special Event / Application for Consultative Status with ECOSOC
Username: ngo1096