Temple of Understanding

Organization's name: Temple of Understanding
Organization's acronym: TOU
Headquarters address  
Address: 777 UN Plaza, 3rd Floor
New York, New York
United States of America
Email: groveharris@gmail.com
Web site: www.templeofunderstanding.org
Preferred mailing address
Address: N/A
Country Not Available
Organization type: Non-governmental organization
  • English

Contacts & Participation:

First Name:

Last Name:

Contact Type:

Nicolas Alvarado Others , Designation
Isabella Amaro Varas Others , Designation
Christopher Toward Others , Designation
Tselmeg Ulammandakh Others
Amy Pacula Others , Designation
Miranda Lupion Designation
Dorothy Neill Others , Designation
Kylie Packer Others , Designation
Lilyan Schwabe Others , Designation
Yunhee Park Others , Designation
Otis Streeter Others , Designation
Emily Pitts Others , Designation
Martha Shaw
Sarah Koosis Designation
Joan Kirby
Sofia Manekia Others , Designation
Larkin Cleland Others , Designation
Melanie Straessle Designation
Ryan Adell Others , Designation
Lilyan Schwabe Designation
Dorian Berger
Sharon Groves
Tej Gokhale Others , Designation
Paulette Cole
Polina Galieva Others
Margo Fish
Brian Rosborough Sustainable Development (secondary) , Forests , Sustainable Development (primary)
Chloe Bausano Others , Designation
Keiko Turecamo Others , Designation
Jennifer Kopec
Josef Boehle Designation
Fu Lan Designation
Catherine Simon
James Lassen Designation
Mariahelena Rey Others
Cy Sampson
Amparo Nieto Blanco Others , Designation
Grove Harris Advancement of Women , Financing for Development , Quadrennial Report , Conference Focal Point , Designation , Sustainable Development (primary)
Isabella Benavides Others , Designation
Dorothy Neill Others , Designation
William Freeman Others
Lily Schwabe Designation
Michael Gottsegen Others , Designation
Patty DeLuca
Dahyun Park Others , Designation
Rachel McCave Others , Designation
Kanishka Kewlani Others , Designation
Ferdinand G. Suba, Jr. Designation
Courtney Weber Hoover
William Freeman Others
Mary Evelyn Tucker
Helena (Lainie) Noonan Others , Designation
Susan Strickler Others , Designation
Jack Stoll
Casey Connelly Others , Designation
James Mannion
Eileen Llorens Financing for Development
Alexander Kane Others , Committee on NGOs Representative
Rocio Fabbro Others
Mrs. Chari Maya Tamang
Grove Harris Advancement of Women , Financing for Development , Quadrennial Report , Designation , Sustainable Development (primary)
Chizuyo Inoue Others , Designation
Isabella Hassel Others
Tyler Goldstein Others , Designation
Glenys DSouza Others
Patrick Mullin Designation
Jonah Rubin Others , Designation
Gail O'Donnell Others , Designation
Noah Gelles Others , Designation
Amy Pacula Others , Designation
Paloma Cristina Main
Amy Pacula Others , Conference Focal Point , Designation
Rose Farah Others , Designation
Angel Bolivar
Neel Dhavale Others , Designation
Grant Gelles Others , Designation
Eric Muthondu Others , Designation
Claire Burwell Others , Designation
Robert Garrity
Joan Kirby
Alexander Smith Others , Designation
Suzanne Guthrie Others
Nancy Salamone Others , Designation
Luke Pramberger Application , Designation
Alexandra Mueller Designation
Rui Li Others , Designation
Margaret Kidd
Kathryn Windles Others , Committee on NGOs Representative
Alison VAN DYK Public Administration , Designation
Herman Greene
Thomas Frenz
Lily Rose Schwabe
Sofia Ahsanuddin Others
Kevin LeBlanc
Caroline Thornburgh Designation
Maria Mayer Others , Designation
Gabriela Montenegro Others , Designation
Xenia Jankovich Others
Erin Lothes
Jennine Sawwan Designation
Therese Kilbane Myers Designation
Peter McGahren Designation
Lyle Li Designation
Hyukjin Ko Others , Designation
Younhye Ock Others , Designation
Laxmi Shah Others , Designation
Evan Schlosser Others , Designation
Sofia Kwon Others
Suzanne Guthrie Others , Designation
Nina Simons
Yunhee Park Others , Designation
Trebbe Johnson
Kieran Downey Others , Designation
Catherine Simon Others
Barbara Dawson Advancement of Women , Designation
Abigail Marcolini Others
Abigail Young Others , Designation
Alison VAN DYK Head of Organization , Designation
Aierken Yilizhate Others , Designation
Ian Ekblaw Designation
Mohammed Amin Others
Rhea Soman Others , Designation
Aleya Frasier
Sampson Seraphim Designation
Ava Seck Others
Griffin Peer Designation
Danielle Stadler Others
Pepper Harris
Andrew Schwartz Others
Alison Van Dyk Head of Organization , Designation
Ashley Young
Tenzin Dolkar Social Development , Advancement of Women , Designation , Sustainable Development (primary)
Irene Chun Others , Designation
Rocio Fabbro Others , Designation
Brian Rosborough Designation
Elie Farah Others , Designation
Kamali Thompson Designation
Zuri Sumter Designation
Richard Park Designation
Anna Weil Others , Designation
Siona Van Dyjk
Zachary Goldstein Others , Designation
Molly Galant Others
Lauren Liotti Others
Mary Beth Kass
Alexander Smith Others
Hannah Jasterini Latif Others , Designation
Joel Punwani Others , Designation
Jonah Cohen
Adrian Bak Others , Designation
Sara Thirlwell Others , Designation
Renee Hill
Grove Harris Designation
Jonathan Sterne Designation
Dylan Peer Application
Geena Pullo Others , Designation
Laxmi Shah Others , Designation
Grove Harris Advancement of Women , Financing for Development , Quadrennial Report , Designation , Sustainable Development (primary)
Andrew Willis Others
Laura Morrison Designation
Leonard MARKS
Shravana Sidhu
Olwethu Mfeka Others , Designation
Matthew Grillo Application , Designation
Robert KENNEDY Designation
Justin Kelly Others
Lucya Pak Others , Designation
Mita Ramani Others , Designation
Emily Shah Others , Designation
Joan Kirby Others , Designation
Lawrence Troster
Joan KIRBY Committee on NGOs Representative , Designation
Eliana Resnick Designation
Joseph Carney Others , Designation
Oliver Mosley Others , Designation
Marsha Glazebrook
C. Gloria Arriagada
Linnea Magsuci Others
Fredericka Ott
Grace Wilson Others , Designation
Nicolas Seby
Ian Humphreys Others , Designation
Pania Lincoln Others , Designation
Randall Solomon
Grace Carney Designation
Kathryn Windels
Amelia Rudick Others
Caroline Corbin Designation


Areas of expertise & Fields of activity:
Economic and Social:
  • Climate Change
  • Debt Relief
  • Development
  • Education
  • Financing for Development
  • Human Rights
  • Indigenous Peoples
  • Justice
  • Religion
  • Social Development
  • Statistics
  • Sustainable Development

Gender Issues and Advancement of Women:
  • Advocacy and outreach
  • Education and training of women
  • Human rights of women
  • Indigenous women
  • Institutional mechanisms for the advancement of women
  • Millennium Development Goals
  • Policy advice
  • Women and poverty
  • Women and the environment
  • Women and the media
  • Women in power and decision-making

Sustainable Development:
  • Education
Geographic scope: International
Country of activity:
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Australia
  • United States of America
  • India
Millennium Development Goals:
  • Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  • Promote gender equality and empower women
  • Ensure environmental sustainability
  • Develop global partnership for development
Mission statement:
Year established (YYYY): 1960
Year of registration (YYYY): 1995
Organizational structure: New York Headquarters 7 TOU Centers in India
Number and type of members: 3500
Affiliation with NGO networks: Tri-Partite Forum; UNEP; DPI Conference Planning; Proposal for UN Decade for Interreligious Understanding
Funding structure:
  • Membership fees or dues
  • Fees for education and training services
  • Donations and grants from domestic sources
Funding structure other: Foundation Grants

Additional Information

Sustainable Development

Major Group affiliation:
  • Non-governmental organization

Main Objective

Social Development
Username: gharris@templeofunderstanding.org