Biovision Stiftung für ökologische Entwicklung

Organization's name: Biovision Stiftung für ökologische Entwicklung
Organization's acronym: BV
Former Name(s): BioVision- Stiftung für Umwelt und Entwicklung
Headquarters address  
Address: Heinrichstr. 147
8005 Zurich

Phone: +41 44 512 58 58
Fax: +41 44 512 58 59
Web site:
Organization type: Foundation
  • French
  • English


Areas of expertise & Fields of activity:
Economic and Social:
  • Agriculture
  • Biodiversity
  • Climate Change
  • Development
  • Education
  • Environment
  • Extreme poverty
  • Food
  • Information
  • Least Developed Countries
  • Media
  • Science and Technology
  • Sustainable Development
  • Trade and Development
  • Women/gender Equality

Sustainable Development:
  • Agriculture
  • Biodiversity
  • Biotechnology
  • Climate change
  • Desertification and Drought
  • Education
  • Forests
  • Freshwater
  • Gender equality
  • Health
  • Land management
  • Partnerships
  • Poverty
  • Protecting and managing the natural resources
  • Rural Development
  • Science
  • Sustainable development for Africa
  • Sustainable development in a globalizing world
  • Technology
  • Toxic chemicals
  • Trade and environment
Geographic scope: International
Country of activity:
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Malawi
  • Switzerland
  • Ethiopia
  • Burundi
  • Kenya
  • Uganda
Millennium Development Goals:
  • Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  • Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  • Ensure environmental sustainability
  • Develop global partnership for development
Mission statement:
Year established (YYYY): 1998
Year of registration (YYYY): 1998
Organizational structure: Biovision`s highest authority is the Foundation Board with its current members Dr. Hans Rudolf Herren (Foundation President), Dr. Barbara Frei Haller, Mathis Zimmermann, Maya Graf, Prof. em. Dr. Ruedi Baumgartner and Paula Daeppen-Dion. The Foundation Board carries the responsibility for Biovision`s operations. It is responsible for strategic direction, election of the CEO and supervision of the office headquarters. The Foundation Board approves the annual budget and plan, as well as applications for funding. Operative management rests with CEO Frank Eyehorn, who took over for Andreas Schriber. Divisional management is made up of: Loredana Sorg - Programme Coordination, Peter Luethi - Communications and Campaigns, Alexandra Arnold - Finance and Administration, Ueli Würmli – Marketing, Sabine Lerch - Programme Switzerland and Martin Herren - Policy & Advocacy. Biovision employs over 40 people in Switzerland who work predominantly on a part-time basis. Furthermore, Biovision is certified establishment for civilian service. The Foundation also regularly takes on interns who can gather initial work experience in the field of development cooperation, communication and ecology.
Number and type of members: 6 board members and approximately 35 000 supporters which are called "members" but are not members in a legal sense, since it is not legal for a Swiss Foundation to have members. However, for purposes of financial reporting Biovision has a category of donors we call "members". They are in fact just donors with no voting or other membership rights.
Affiliation with NGO networks: • Biovision African Trust • CEAS – Centre Ecologique Albert Schweitzer • SDSN – UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network • CAN – Climate Action Network • CSM (Civil Society Mechanism) at the CFS (Comitee on World Food Security)
Funding structure:
  • Other sources
  • Donations and grants from domestic sources
  • Funds from other Non-Governmental Organizations
  • Foreign and international grants
  • Grants from Governments
Funding structure other: Corporate Sponsors

Additional Information

No additional information available.