Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc

Organization's name: Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc
Headquarters address  
Address: 1000 Southhill Drive, Suite 200
Cary, North Carolina 27513
United States of America
Phone: (919) 678.9720
Fax: (919) 678.9721
Web site:

Organization type: Non-governmental organization
  • English

Contacts & Participation:

First Name:

Last Name:

Contact Type:

Joann Loveless Advancement of Women , Designation
Rachel Morris Advancement of Women , Designation
Faith Foreman Advancement of Women , Designation
Angela Spears Advancement of Women , Designation
Donita Devance-Manzini Advancement of Women , Designation
Deborah Catchings-Smith Advancement of Women
Inez B Vanable
Rasheeda Liberty Advancement of Women , Designation
Yvonne Pointer Advancement of Women , Designation
Deborah Catchings-Smith Social Development , Advancement of Women , Head of Organization , Designation
Christina Guillen Advancement of Women , Designation
Christina Guillen Advancement of Women , Designation
Glenn Loveless Head of Organization , Designation
Sharon Rose Advancement of Women , Designation
Tramayne Osbourne Advancement of Women , Designation
Faith Foreman Advancement of Women
Bonita Herring Advancement of Women , Head of Organization , Designation
Annabel George-Uffen Advancement of Women , Designation


Areas of expertise & Fields of activity:
Economic and Social:
  • Business and Industry
  • Children
  • Crime Prevention
  • Development
  • Economics and Finance
  • Education
  • Media
  • Minority Rights
  • Science and Technology
  • Social Development
  • Values
  • Volunteerism
  • Women
  • Women/gender Equality
  • Youth

Gender Issues and Advancement of Women:
  • Advocacy and outreach
  • Capacity building
  • Education and training of women
  • Human rights of women
  • Information and communication technologies
  • Institutional mechanisms for the advancement of women
  • Violence against women
  • Women and HIV/AIDS
  • Women and health
  • Women and the economy
  • Women and the media
  • Women in power and decision-making

Social Development:
  • Aging
  • Conflict
  • Cooperative
  • Employment
  • Information and Communications Technologies
  • Social policy
  • Youth
Geographic scope: International
Country of activity:
  • Republic of Korea
  • United States of America
  • Canada
  • Bahamas
Millennium Development Goals:
  • Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  • Achieve universal primary education
  • Promote gender equality and empower women
  • Reduce child mortality
  • Improve maternal health
  • Develop global partnership for development
Mission statement:
Year established (YYYY): 1922
Year of registration (YYYY): 1929
Organizational structure: The President (Grand Basileus) leads the organization in collaboration with the executive board. The executive board is elected by the membership every two years at the National meeting (Boule), and is composed of the President (Grand Basielus) Vice President( First Grand Anti-Basileus), Second Vice President (Second Grand Anti-Basileus), Financial Secretary (Grand Grammateus , Treasurer (Grand Tamiochus), Secretary (Grand Anti-Gramateus), Historian/Public Relations (Grand Epitholeus), and Editor in Chief (Chief of the Aurora). The organization is supported by the headquarters staff which is lead by the Executive Director. There are five Regional Directors (Syntaktei), five Undergraduate Chapter Coordinators (UCC) and five Youth Service Coordinators (YSC) one each for the Central region, Northeast region, Southeast Region, Southwest Region, and Western Region. Each region is composed of multiple chapters from various states and territories. Each of the five regions is lead by a Regional Director and has its own executive board. Each chapter is lead by a President (Basileus) and has an executive board. Representatives from the chapters in the respective regions are elected every two years to represent the chapters at the regional level. The Central region includes the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin. The Northeast region includes the states of Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Korea, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, and Bermuda. The Southeast Region includes Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, Bahamas, and the Virgin Islands. The Southwest Region includes Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas and the Western Region includes Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming. Sigma Public Education and Research (SPEAR) is a official 501 c (3) organization of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc which increases the availability of resources to local chapters and community based organizations (CBOs) so that they can design and administer effective programs for the community. SPEAR goals include empowering minorities and women with tools and skills to become economically self-sufficient, developing programmatic activities that focus on family preservation, developing health initiatives that increases the awareness of minorities and women and developing education initiatives that empower impoverished women to become effective advocates for themselves, their children and their community. The National Education Fund, Inc. (NEF) provides scholarship aid to needy students of all races and conducts educational programs to enhance the quality of life. The Seven Pearls Foundation focuses on building strategic partnerships and securing corporate and grant funding.
Number and type of members: We have over 90,000 members and affiliates, Alumnae members are those members who have completed at least a 4 year college degree from a regionally accredited institution. Associate members are those undergraduate members who have not completed the requirements for a baccalaureate degree. Undergraduate members become members while attending a four-year accredited college. Honorary members are women who have performed outstanding work on local and national levels in education, human relations, science, religion, or other cultural areas. Affiliates include the Philo Club which is composed of adult women interested in promoting Sigma Gamma Rho programs, and a Rhoer Club used for high school groups.
Funding structure:
  • Membership fees or dues

Additional Information

Sustainable Development

Involvement in UN Partnerships:

Main Objective

Special Event / Application for Consultative Status with ECOSOC